Big Brother

The government has been keeping an eye on society for decades. People from many generations have been recorded and documented ranging from men and women in power like Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, to terrorist like Saddam Hussein, Osama Bin Laden, Muammar Gaddafi to entertainers like Tupac, Notorious B.I.G to your everyday citizen like me and you. No I’m not comparing hip hop legends to terrorist and African American leaders, I’m just stating the fact that everyone is watched. One of the ways the government keeps track of people in society today is by PRISM.

What is PRISM you ask? According to the reading, the term “is a tool used by the US National Security Agency (NSA) to collect private electronic data belonging to users of major internet services like Gmail, Facebook, Outlook, and others. It’s the latest evolution of the US government’s post-9/11 electronic surveillance efforts, which began under President Bush with the Patriot Act, and expanded to include the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) enacted in 2006 and 2007.” (T.C. Sottek and Joshua Kopstein) this idea allows the NSA (National Security Agency) to retrieve information from major email/ social media companies Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Yahoo, Apple and Gmail to name a few.

I just found out the other day that Google has a tracker that can show where you’ve been in the last 30 days. The device is called (Location history.) The tracker design can be found under maps on Googles main page. How is this possible? We have tracking devices in our cell phones which is planted and programmed by our service provider which is provided by our every move. We also have a device called (on star which is located in our vehicles) that’s used by the government to watch your location. When you think about it, surveillance by the government is dangerous and suffocating. But let me explain why this is a good/bad thing. Imagine taking your family on a road trip and you catch a flat tire in the middle of nowhere. With on star services, you are one click away from being found, helped and protected.  You’ve been happily married for a few years but you are starting to have your doubts about your significant other. You can pull up their information by using Gmail’s tracking system which goes in to great detail. I know a girl that hacked into her boyfriend’s phone from her personal computer. She suspected him of cheating. She called his phone numerous times and he wouldn’t answer. At one point, he turned his phone off. Because he had a Gmail account, she was able to power his phone back on. He was so scared; he had no choice but to answer.

There is a whole lot wrong with big brother always watching. Don’t get me wrong, people have been getting spied on for decades.Is it really for our safety? I don’t think so! Just last week, the (NSA) was able to track down an Ohio man who was eying the white house. They were able to see in great detail his plan to buy ammunition and heavy artillery. They even went so far to track the owner of the gun shop the criminal was going to buy his weapons from. As soon as he walked in the door he was arrested. This was all made possible by (PRISM). My views on this matter are for/against government surveillance to an extent. But what about those motion censored cameras that follow you around at the liquor store? Racially profiled! False accusations! I can go on and on about this topic. I understand we all grew up differently, in different societies ect.. We all have different experiences.What do you think?  Can it be a little over bearing at times?  Would you feel safe without big brother watching your every move?

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram: @blcarr2xgrad

29 thoughts on “Big Brother

  1. asibo January 21, 2015 / 9:39 pm

    Government surveillance systems that are kept top secret and are overseen and monitored by secretive courts in the name of national security may sound awfully sketchy, but just because it’s hidden and unknown to the general public doesn’t necessarily make it nefarious. Particularly when using the “Big Brother” analogy, George Orwell’s oppressive surveillance regime in 1984 was far more obtuse in its presence than the current state of American security. In the Orwellian nightmare, government surveillance insisted upon itself in the lives of its citizens, constantly reminding them that they were being watched and that they would be punished if they stepped out of line (or thought about stepping out of line). Up until the NSA leak, no one in the general population had any idea about the practices and policies of the NSA, much less what PRISM was. Half of the problem with being constantly monitored is knowing that you are constantly monitored. Frankly, in my opinion, we might have been better off not knowing about PRISM and NSA practices since we wouldn’t be worrying about constantly being monitored, because we wouldn’t know we were constantly being monitored. But as long as we are aware of PRISM, I am all for the general populace being more knowledgeable and having more access to the apparatuses in place to monitor us, as Jameel Jaffer argues at the end of the Times article “Is the N.S.A. Surveillance Threat Real or Imagined?”

    Like

  2. spgregor January 22, 2015 / 1:16 pm

    I am sorry, but having the government watching my every move doesn’t make me feel safe. To suggest that due to the new technological age we should allow the government to monitor our every movement, purchase, and thought concerns me over the prospect of ever being able to have any privacy whatsoever. In our society today, fear drives our willingness to hand over our privacy under the premise of “I am not doing anything wrong so what is the harm?” The problem is, who gets to decide what “wrong” is? What is to prevent governmental forces from using circumstances like 911 to pander to the fear of terrorist attacks to further erode the boundaries of privacy only to later be used as fodder for their own agenda? Our Constitution may have been written many years ago, but it was designed to protect citizens and prevent abuses through curtailing our freedom to move about freely and expectation of privacy when communicating with others. To suggest we no longer need to abide by it because of this new technological age is crazy. I agree we live in a new age, but do not feel that dictates I must give up my privacy and freedom.

    Like

  3. Brandon Coulter January 22, 2015 / 6:45 pm

    The problem isn’t the fact that we are monitored on a daily basis by the government and other agencies, the problem arises from the different uses of our personal information. We cannot avoid the fact that our information is stored in mass quantities in several different areas across the United States and possibly the world. This constant watching is nowhere near as harmful as the public believes, however, as the information received is used to establish two of the most basic beliefs in American culture and structure: continued capitalism and complete home safety. Our purchase history is tracked in hopes of showing us similar items to purchase, an ultimately harmless usage. While our personal information is tracked daily, so is the information of every terrorist and harmful person that interacts with any piece of technology, an integral aspect of finding and stopping any actions that are taken to hurt other people in the entire world. The only true problem that arises comes from the fact that our information, while being ultimately untapped as any resource that would negatively impact our image, is stored within databases an infinite number of times over. This information could easily be — and has been — hacked in order to steal from others, more often than not in lower numbers than the population believes. Regardless of our attempts to protest these ways that our information is stashed away, we cannot hide when we live our lives through complete public access. Coming to terms with the banal ways we are used is the first step in trusting the “violating” ways we are followed throughout our lives.

    Like

  4. eakoonter January 24, 2015 / 12:32 am

    I suppose I am one of those people that doesn’t care that the government is watching my every move. I have nothing to hide. If somebody sitting in NSA finds what I’m doing amusing, then so be it. At least I’m amusing somebody. There have been plenty of times that the government has used their surveillance capabilities and caught terrorists or criminals in the act. I appreciate that the government is watching people and honestly they skim over people like you and me that aren’t searching for weird things or doing weird things. I feel safe.

    Like

  5. adrianhormsby January 24, 2015 / 3:09 am

    Short answer to your question is I would definitely feel safer without Big Brother watching. The problem with Big Brother is that he may see what you’re doing but he has no idea what you’re thinking or why you’re doing what you do. For those who have had experience with the “justice” system, you know that innocent and harmless behaviors can be construed or rather twisted by authorities to further their own agenda. It’s often not about getting at the truth but more about advocating a version of what the corporation thinks is the truth. Very frustrating for citizens who have grown up believing that security agencies, law enforcement and the justice system are there to protect justice and liberty for all. Fortunately the NSA and other security agencies are so woefully understaffed and so sidetracked by political priorities that they’ll probably never have the resources or opportunity to sift through the mountains of yours and my personal data that they’ve collected in secret. The track record for these agencies unfortunately is not the best, people on death row that shouldn’t be, people arrested and detained with little or baseless charges (e.g. Guantanamo Bay) and now millions of upright US citizens being spied on without their knowledge. When and where is it going to end? I thought this was something that only the KGB did before the wall came down. On the surface it may appear that the NSA having my personal data is amusing but when that information is used against you in an official capacity it’s anything but amusing. Let’s hope you’re not the one that happens to.

    Like

  6. Ms.McCollum January 24, 2015 / 5:09 am

    Yes it is overbearing and yes it would feel safer without my every move being watched, but I have become used to it. I know that my information is being tracked and that from looking at a travel site Expedia ads will show up on Facebook, that liking Ulta Beauty on Twitter will prompt suggestions for Urban Decay and Benefit, but this isn’t always bad. These ads interest me…most of the time. There are always irrelevant ads that come up ads make we wonder how it got there, but I don’t get mad about it. If I had the choice to opt out of these data mining tactics, I would probably do it but would I miss it in the end? Never seeing cool products show up on Facebook, like PrizeCandles. Those things are awesome. I think I would being wonder why the ads never show up since I’ve grown accustomed to them.

    I know than companies’ gather more information than they should need in order to promote a product to me, and that is the scary part. I know my information is being sold even by companies we pay money to, like phone providers. It is absolutely ridiculous when I get a telemarketer calling my cellphone. When it comes to this, a service I pay for VS me signing up for email updates, the paid should never leak information.

    Like

  7. nebior January 25, 2015 / 12:38 am

    I think I have made my views about privacy and the idea of “Big Brother” very clear in my blog and twitter posts. To summarize my feelings, I feel the more we are all watched then the safer we all are. The example of the Ohio man mentioned in this blog post is a perfect example of how and why invading the privacy of someone can be helpful and even life-saving. I feel the mentality of “if you have nothing to hide then what is the issue” is very sound when it comes to the topic of privacy. Why worry if someone listens to your phone calls or knows your browsing history if it helps to prevent a crime or to catch a terrorist?

    PRISM and other such technologies are amazing breakthroughs pertaining to the protection of citizens in the United States. The fact that the program can dig through data in such an efficient way is comforting to me. I feel that the development of technologies similar to PRISM would be a better way to spend time and money rather than investing in weapons/military. These programs could help prevent incidents with less weaponry and trained protectors. Again returning to the Ohio man, that situation was resolved with much less man power and risk than if he had been discovered only once his plan was in action which saved time, lives, and money.

    –Ben Walker

    Like

    • efekete January 26, 2015 / 4:25 am

      @nebior I agree, these programs have shown to get results and prevent crimes from happening. I think and what I hope the programs are designed to do is strategically target individuals with a given history. So why should the average citizen have a problem with that? If you pledge your support of a mainstream terrorist organization over social media its safe to assume that your going to be monitored for suspicious activities. Why would the NSA waste time and resources to monitor and store the data of people just shopping online, checking emails, or playing video games? No matter how big their budget is, I don’t think that that would be possible for them to conduct a massive search of America’s data. However even though I don’t participate in anything illegal or suspicious, I think I would be annoyed if I found out my hard drive was being searched periodically without my consent.

      Like

  8. Kevin Payton January 25, 2015 / 1:18 am

    I agree that the government has been keeping an eye on everyone for as long as time. Government surveillance even has roots in Biblical times as Judas according to the Holy Bible was sent to spy and keep account of Jesus. The government has become more technological advance obliviously since Biblical times and has replaced physical spies with gathering information by way of data mining, and wire taps. The government program PRISM has been created to do the same job, but on the entire population. In the digital era we live in, information has become more powerful than any weapon created. The government is in the business of collecting information. This information that is collected according to how PRISM works is done without our knowledge or consent. For those people who wish to do the government or other people harm, this could be a problem. But for those of us who are law-abiding citizens this could be unreasonable. Unreasonable in the fact that why should our info be gathered by the government if we have committed no crime. I cannot say I agree or disagree with the surveillance of American citizens without their knowledge but I do understand the purpose. The face of terrorism has changed and is not stereotypical and predictable as once thought makes it difficult to specifically target individuals. So for the cost of the freedom and safety we enjoy we pay a price of lack of privacy.

    Like

  9. cseejay January 25, 2015 / 4:07 pm

    I think the largest issue I see is, somewhere the positions flipped and the Government no longer serves the people. What’s famously said out loud is “how the Government serves the people” but now the idea, they can hold information from the public is okay? I’m not sure how I feel about that, and to some degree I’m with everyone else. At times PRISM benefits us, and others it doesn’t, but I wouldn’t go, as far to make a claim that in some regard people can’t handle the fact that they’re being monitored. That type of thinking is backwards to me. If the NSA were worried about how people were going to react to this information (before it leaked) then it’s also their job to figure out how to explain what they’re doing to the public. I’m typically someone who thinks more government control is a good thing, but only in CERTAIN areas. I do think people knew they were being watched before the public found out about NSA, it just wasn’t officially said, kind of like steroids in the NFL. If it was breaking news that the government is closely watching you then, I don’t think you read enough.

    Like

  10. bjuhasz10 January 25, 2015 / 5:34 pm

    I think the benefits of government monitoring are evident. As you mentioned, “the (NSA) was able to track down an Ohio man who was eyeing the white house. They were able to see in great detail his plan to buy ammunition and heavy artillery. They even went so far to track the owner of the gun shop the criminal was going to buy his weapons from. As soon as he walked in the door he was arrested. ” This is just one example of one potential threat avoided, so just imagine how many other threats there are that we don’t even hear about that our government has prevented.

    Furthermore, I agree with Brandon’s take. The problem isn’t necessarily government monitoring. It has been shown this can be crucial to preventing threats and disasters in our country. The problem comes from when this information falls into the wrong hands. I think the government has a duty to protect this personal information they accrue from us, and must do everything they can to prevent hackers from accessing our information. Nothing will ever be 100% safe in our world, but I think limited government surveillance mixed with the government protecting out private information, we can live in a country that is safe and protected, both online and off.

    Like

  11. mwiedmeyer January 25, 2015 / 5:52 pm

    The benefits of government monitoring seem evident, but I’m just not sure that all of their programs are effective. The TSA, for example. Just the other day, I read an article about how over 400 TSA employees have been fired/prosecuted for stealing from passengers. They’ve found 0 terrorists. They do find guns and such in people’s carry-ons, but the vast majority are accidentally left in luggage, not intentionally brought on a plane. These programs need to be constantly evaluated to see if they’re wasting American taxpayer money, and it doesn’t seem that the government is really keeping their end of the deal up. I frequently read articles about Americans being profiled or humiliated by the TSA, and that’s the security measure we actually get to comment on and experience as Americans. We never see the results of their remote monitoring of our information online, and that’s pretty frightening.

    Like

  12. Carly Hernandez January 25, 2015 / 6:06 pm

    It definitely can be a little overbearing at times but I think that the NSA and the government are using these tactics to help us and not harm us. The man in Ohio for example was something that they had to use their resources for good. How else are we going to be protected if there isn’t someone behind it all? Although it does worry me that we don’t have full control over where our information goes and who will come in contact with it. The feeling of being watched with every move I make doesn’t necessarily make me feel safe. There should be a limit on the amount of information that anyone can use or see. I think that a lot of people feel that they are used to being watched and knowing that their information is out there and they don’t think of it as a big deal anymore. If you have nothing to hide then it isn’t a big deal right? I don’t think that is a proper way to go about giving power to something that we don’t necessarily know what happens behind closed doors. Our information is now being transformed into a commodity, being bought and sold for the benefit of others. As technology keeps improving and new devices are created, it makes way for other ways that our privacy can be invaded. I guess I have mixed feelings about whether or not ‘Big Brother’ is the best thing or not.

    Like

  13. jaemillz411 January 25, 2015 / 8:27 pm

    Art is truly imitating life and vise versa. We were warned and now the time has come to deal with our government and hopefully find a way to regulate their access to our lives online and off. You are correct all of us are at risk no matter what status. I love the race aspect to brought into the mix because like every aspect in America there is an underlying race issue. PRISM is not racially biased, but the people looking over the information and analyzing it can be. What is a person of Muslim background is making long distance calls back to their homeland, would they be red flagged and interrogated or harassed? We do not really know and that is what is scary. I do think all the cameras and surveillance and to me the government seems scarier that the “enemy”. Sometimes it can be over bearing because everywhere you turn is intimidating. I feel safe when I am out and about, but I cannot tell if it is because of the government’s efforts or because we do not have that much to fear. And that is because we are not always included in the conversion about our defense.

    Like

  14. mstor763 January 25, 2015 / 11:59 pm

    In regards to feeling safe without big brother, I feel I totally would be. I grew up on a farm for a few years and just being out in the open, no cameras, no cell phone service, no nothing was actually really therapeutic as I look back on it. PRISM is nothing more than an algorithm that raises flags that enables the government to look further. The fact that the government was able to stop the man in Ohio is truly awesome, but at what cost? – No one deserves to be invaded like that and I sure hope it was done with preliminary evidence to go as far the government did.

    We are truly the only ones that can limit info about ourselves. We put the data out there without even thinking about it, but honestly, how can you possibly not due to cell phones? We all tend to need them, On-star, another great technological advancement, but at what cost? We need to stop pointing fingers and help the laws be enacted to protect us.

    In the end “Big Brother” will always be there whether we like it or not, so I guess what I am saying is get use to it.

    Like

  15. bubbastinx January 26, 2015 / 12:16 am

    I mean just because someone has been persecuting Jews forever doesn’t make it right. Just because minorities in American get psychologically dumped on by Mass Media since the beginning of the television doesn’t make it right.

    I bet most of you don’t know that that along with the FISA act that there were separate courts outside the jurisdiction of the United States, and somehow if you mistakenly get the wrong label attached to you that they can keep your tail locked up indefinitely, and without access to a lawyer. Tell me that isn’t crazy?

    The Government doesn’t make a mistake, huh?

    What about the 70 year old African American man that was recently released from prison after a 37 year stay. Oh, did I mention that he was innocent?

    One of the best principles that America has going for it that many country don’t is the presumption of innocence until found guilty.

    Much of the Cyber legislation shreds this idea with the labels of Terrorism, and etc….

    Like

  16. hessaj January 26, 2015 / 1:54 am

    With the government’s power, and for our “safety”, these false accusations are going to happen, that’s the sad part. What does that say about PRISM? Nothing’s perfect, but this is another good reason why we should be a little skeptical of our government. You can simply type the word “bomb” in google and something might happen. Anything that threatens Americans. It’s hard to recognize and actually see when this is of use, and of wrong doing. So we’re ignorant, at least I am. I never read news. And nothing affects me, so it’s whatever to me. But I’m sure out there in the world this happens, I just never think about it. I agree with your notion of being for it to an extent, of course we should make America safe and sound as possible, but as long as they’re going all out on this as they are with surveillance in every kind, it makes me feel like I have a little less freedom that originally intended.

    Like

  17. seananthony3 January 26, 2015 / 2:13 am

    Government Surveillance is a necessary evil. Some of your privacy is sacrificed, but at least some criminals can be caught in the act, right? I personally believe that the biggest problem with PRISM was that it wasn’t talked about to the public until much later, but I understand the reasoning not to. As a culture, we tend to have this habit of jumping to the worst conclusion, based on Orwellian horror stories. It’s connected with the countless conspiracy theories that someone is trying to take over the country/we are being controlled when it really isn’t that simple. This technology is still relatively new (15 years or so) and I doubt it’s perfect. One of the downsides is racial profiling, but that’s more related to the attitude of authority anyways.

    We have a fear of our every watch being monitored, and these being used against us, but cell phones only track your location because of how they work. In order to receive calls and text messages, a signal is sent to a satellite, and it is then sent to your phone. This is how GPS navigation works as well. If your location wasn’t tracked, these technologies wouldn’t work.

    On a final note… I truly believe that if some group had the ability to keep track of every American, detain every “bad citizen”, and do all of this completely under our noses, then good job! You deserve to take charge of your new kingdom! You are more organized than any group we’ve ever had.

    Like

  18. sneff16 January 26, 2015 / 2:20 am

    I am on the fence about government spying. While it has been beneficial in several instances, it just seems intrusive. However, government spying doesn’t bother me as much as data mining. I don’t like sharing my personal information with companies so they can advertise to me. I created an e-mail address just for companies to send their spam e-mail to. I rarely check it, because the offers are rarely that great. While it is creepy to think that the government can read your texts, e-mails, etc. at least they aren’t trying to send you special offers constantly.

    Like

  19. akuelbs January 26, 2015 / 2:51 am

    I am totally for the government watching people that can be deemed threatening, but to spy on the common person is not something i want them to be doing. If you think about all the resources and money it takes to spy and keep an eye on a normal person, just for them to be absolutely clean and there being no threat, is just more money that is going to waste and we as a country don’t need to be doing that. I believe we should just use spying on people of interest who we deem threats.
    The more we talk about spying on humans and everything, i can’t stop thinking about the television show “Person of Interest.” This show revolves around a machine that is used to pick up people who are threats and is used to stop terrible events before they happen. The only thing is the common person has no clue about what is actually going on, and that the machine even exist. I think the main reason why people might not have a problem about what is all going on is because they probably are uneducated about it all, or just really choose not to care. If people find out more about what is going on, i think there would be a much bigger out roar about it all.

    Like

  20. thegradytrain January 26, 2015 / 3:17 am

    I personally don’t have any issue with the government spying on me, I don’t have anything to hide that. It honestly doesn’t surprise me either that the government puts a great number of resources into capturing the data on the internet. I would not feel too safe knowing that the government wasn’t looking out for certain things like some transactions that take place. The methods you described to capture a possible threat seems like the right idea and one reason why PRISM is a good thing. My only issue is the possibility of a false positive, that is, enough possible flags to set off the algorithm to be flagged down for something that isn’t actually correct. My only hope is that the algorithm is sophisticated enough to understand false positives as well as the agents monitoring people being competent enough. It doesn’t necessarily bother me that the government tracks my habits on the internet. What DOES bother me is that some companies make a strong profit of that sort of data, and that they keep it somewhere where someone who is decent with computers can actually get to. I couldn’t care less what the government does with that information, it is the other people that have the same information that worries me the most.

    Like

  21. lewenzel93 January 26, 2015 / 4:14 am

    While there are definite pros and cons to governmental access of all this information, especially in cases of national security, I won’t always be comfortable with it. Your example of the NSA arresting the Ohio man planning an attack on the White House, I fully support the outcome. However, the examples of hacking phones or email accounts by wives or girlfriends who suspect cheating, I can’t agree with. Situations like that only create pain and mistrust. But back to how government access to this information affects us, I can’t help but wonder how things were before the internet and all this spying. Obviously, technology is always evolving and so is crime, but there just has to be a point where you know too much information or you’re essentially stalking someone for too long without reward. And by “reward,” I mean, preventing someone from harming themselves or anyone else. Government surveillance can help to prevent a lot of bad things from happening, but there needs to be tight restrictions on it, too. People have the right to privacy. I do believe I’d feel safer knowing I wasn’t constantly being watched.

    (Also, my computer is telling me the incorrect time stamps. Not sure if anyone else is experiencing this, but I’m definitely not posting my comments past the due date at 3 am.)

    Like

      • stefaniedak January 26, 2015 / 4:28 am

        Yeah, the general time every time I’ve made a WordPress is 5 hours ahead. So when it says 4am Jan 26, it means 11pm Jan 25.

        Like

  22. stefaniedak January 26, 2015 / 4:22 am

    OnStar was specifically created to give you immediate road assistance when needed, let you know when your tire is flat and so on. We have the option to have OnStar installed into our car or not. We allow that to happen and don’t mind it because we know that the likelihood that we will get stranded somewhere or catch a flat tire is quite high. Therefore, we allow this sort of “tracking” as we are guaranteed and know for a fact it will help keep us safe. On the other hand, the government just takes advantage of these technological advancements and uses them as a way to track and collect information about each and every one of us. Surveillance cameras are used and accessed by store owners when there is a robbery or shooting of some sort – all positives to me. However, for the government to take advantage of this time period and use these tools to track the innocent individuals of the US – is completely unjust and overbearing.

    However, I see your point and agree that the government should use these devices to track people who are threats and so on. I have always agreed with that. But ONLY for those specific situations. The government is completely overbearing and stick their noises into our private lives more than necessary. Who knows how much information they have collected on all of us and how much we are at risk because of that. Sure they are doing this to watch over us and protect us; however, like you stated, there are more dangerous people out there behind computer screens with a huge sum of knowledge. Like you stated, hackers have already took advantage of the governments collection of data and used it against us.

    Like

  23. galaradi January 26, 2015 / 4:30 am

    I personally would not feel more safe having the government spying on me and everything I do online. It is a major invasion of a citizen’s privacy, and isn’t worth invading to catch “terrorists”. In order to catch these terrorists, one must define what counts as suspicious and what doesn’t. This can be an issue that changes with each person’s perspective. Anything that a person does online can be misinterpreted to something “suspicious”. Can the government really catch people by spying on them online?

    Has the government stopped any shootings before they occurred? Some suspicious tweets are publicized after a shooting or murder occurs. If the government was watching this, why weren’t they able to stop any of them? In fact, we have had more shootings this year and crime did not decrease. Why doesn’t the government focus more on preventing crime inside the country?

    Like

  24. smkiraco January 26, 2015 / 4:54 am

    I do not think this surveillance is that over bearing. Then again this is coming from someone who has been cautious in my web activity. Also, the majority of this data the government collects just sits in storage until a search warrant so to speak calls for your data to be retrieved.

    Would you feel safe without big brother watching your every move?
    No. When used correctly as you pointed out in your post this data can prevent certain actions/crimes from being performed. However, there is the flip side to that coin. When this data is used inappropriately it can cause much harm. But without this data certain actions/crimes are almost unstoppable. Mainly cyber crimes. Metadata is an invaluable asset to have in these situations.

    With the exponential rate at which technology advances this data also becomes exponentially important, but so does the want and need of control of its management.

    Like

  25. rmpaulk January 26, 2015 / 5:06 am

    I definitely think it can be very overbearing. I think I would be more ok with it if I knew I wasn’t being watched ALL THE TIME. Am I being watched 24/7 or is it only when I do something “suspicious” like google a bunch of stuff on the government. Am I on a list that I can be crossed off, or is everyone a suspect forever? I want to know what the procedure is and what the protocol is. Are they allowed to forward my funny snapchats to others in the office? Are they allowed to gossip over who found the dumbest person that day? I also want to know the percentage of crimes they have stopped using this technology. Is it actually making a difference, or are they just being overbearing and intrusive? They should release how many crimes and terrorist attacks they have stopped everyday do to this technology. Show me it is worth giving up my privacy. Show me that I am not considered a possible criminal. We should teach future generations to trust others, not the opposite. We shouldn’t have to feel like we have to keep a close eye on everyone around us. It’s exhausting and unnecessary.

    Like

  26. elrader2015 January 26, 2015 / 9:16 pm

    Wow! I totally didn’t know that you could track people’s location using Google and Gmail. Now that is a little terrifying in my opinion and sounds like a stalker’s paradise. While I understand the security that services like On Star provide (I even have it in my car) it’s just too much. Technology is going way too far, way too fast. If the NSA is truly using this kind of information for security, that’s one thing, but from the sounds of it any average Joe can use this kind of technology at their disposal to get into information that they shouldn’t have access to. I also like the comment above me that says if all of this intrusive information is being used for public safety, then the government should release numbers addressing how many crimes or acts of terror they have stopped or intervened in due to the use of this technology. I guess the ultimate question is how far is too far and how much are we willing to sacrifice in the name of so called security?

    Like

Leave a Reply

