Allow me to introduce myself

Hi everyone!
My name is Emily Rader and I’m a junior here at UM-D. I’m a history major with big dreams and law school aspirations. I love classes that deal with current events and issues going on in the world, so this seemed like a good class to take, especially because we live in such a connected world that seems to be centered on the internet these days. I’m a very passionate and driven individual who can’t seem to ever sit still. I always have a handful of projects going on at once and if I don’t I’m always looking for the next adventure. My interests include music, philanthropy, Phi Mu (my sorority), pistol shooting, feminism, reading, traveling and being a workaholic. I’m from the Downriver area, but I went to the Ann Arbor campus for a semester so I’m still in the transition of moving back.
298810_275362779170758_131897690_n

Although my dream career is one in the law profession, I’m very passionate and involved in my work life leading up to this goal. I was lucky enough to be signed with a talent agency this past year that has given me more opportunities than I ever imagined. I was able to work for the Lions this past football season and I’ve grown a huge love for the team, Detroit and my team I worked with. After working in the city from August-December and growing a love for the city, I plan on moving to Midtown with my best friend this August. Aside from other random jobs, I was selected to work for the Detroit Auto Show this month and I’m so excited for it!
1395275_912696962104000_7475952917832411482_n

I’m also actively involved in my sorority, despite being away for a semester. Phi Mu has also given me a lot of opportunities and sparked my love of philanthropy. I’ve held leadership positions including philanthropy chair for my Greek community which allowed me to work on the planning committee for Polar Plunge and serve as the volunteer coordinator for the Detroit plunge. This year will be my third year working with Special Olympics for this event and you can find my page here if anyone is interested in donating to this awesome cause!

https://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/emily-rader/Detroit15

The site I use the most is probably Instagram and my username is Raderlove for any fellow IG lovers out there. I also love Tumblr, the Huffington Post and a variety of news sites to stay up to date on current events. I’m not as tech savvy as I’d like to be and I’m an amateur when it comes to this blogging stuff, but hopefully this class will help with that. I guess that’s it for now, but I’m looking forward to this semester with you all!
Cheers.

Leave a Reply

